Congress Chairs

Prof. Ralf Baron, Germany | Congress Co-Chair

Professor Dr med Ralf Baron is Head of the Division of Neurological Pain Research and Therapy at the Department of Neurology, Christian-Albrechts-Universitaet Kiel, in Germany.  From 1999-2004, he served as General Secretary of the German Interdisciplinary Pain Society (DIVS), from 2005-2016 he served as a Management Committee Member of the Neuropathic Pain Special Interest Group (NeuPSIG) of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) and from 2008-2010 as a board member of the Deutsche Schmerzgesellschaft.  He has been a Councilor of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) from 2010-2016.

His main research interest is the pathophysiology and therapy of neuropathic pain states.  He has intensive scientific collaborations with several researchers worldwide, e.g., Professor HL Fields, San Francisco, USA, and Professor TS Jensen, Aarhus, Denmark.

Professor Baron is associate editor and reviewer for many scientific journals (Advisory Board Member for Nature Reviews Neurology 2005-present, Associate Editor for Pain 2003-present, and the European Journal of Pain 2006-2012).  He has been the recipient of the German Pain Award, the Heinrich-Pette-Award of the German Neurological Society, and the Sertürner-Award.  In 1998 he was awarded a Feodor Lynen fellowship by the German Humboldt Foundation and was visiting professor at the Department of Neurology, University of California, San Francisco.

Professor Baron has authored more than 250 publications with his outstanding and motivated research team and has lectured at numerous conferences and symposia worldwide.

Prof. Elon Eisenberg, Israel | Congress Co-Chair

Prof. Elon Eisenberg graduated from Sackler School of Medicine, Tel-Aviv University in Israel. He completed a residency in Neurology, at Rambam Medical Center, Haifa, Israel, and Neurology – Pain Fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA.

Prof. Eisenberg has been the director of the Institute of Pain Medicine at Rambam Health Care Campus, Haifa, Israel, and the President of the Israeli Pain Association. He is currently the director of the Pain Research Unit at the Institute of Pain Medicine, Rambam Health Care Campus, and a Professor of Neurology and Pain Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine in the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology. His main areas of research include mechanisms and treatment of pain with special emphasis on neuropathic pain, CRPS, cancer pain, opioids, and cannabinoids. Prof. Eisenberg has published about two-hundred articles, book chapters, and abstracts in various areas of pain.